Blogosphere reaction- “…I’m not sorry.”

As the semester at BSU is taking off again I am back to spending the majority of my time on this little screen right here.  It has been a long few weeks but such is life. One person who has not been to busy to blog about their feelings is the author of this piece (click to open new window) on stay at home moms. 

I am a female soldier who was raised in a household with a strong working mother, a police officer, who taught me to challenge the world. She always told me that life would be harder for me if I chose certain career paths, but not to shy away from them.  She showed me that the world is full of beauty and judgement. My mother taught me that there is nothing wrong with being feminine and girly and equally nothing wrong with being strong and independent. Life is a balance.

The author of “I Look Down On Young Women With Husbands And Kids And I’m Not Sorry” has every right to feel the way she does though it appears that she doesn’t understand the importance of this balance in life. Being a mother and a wife isn’t easy and it does garner respect. To make the claim that these are not accomplishments is nothing shy of being plain bitter.  To say that you won’t have the time or energy to accomplish anything professionally with a husband and children and following that with implication that these things are not difficult is contradictory. To claim that men do not care to manage household is clearly proven false in the raising percentage of stay at home dads in society. 

In short articles such as this are what give the feminist movement a poor connotation and hide the truth behind feminism. By looking down on the tasks that have been historically placed in the female gender role category actually sends the message that women are lesser which is contrary to the point stated in the article.

The honest to goodness, what I think, no holds barred? This woman is bitter and tells herself that she doesn’t need a husband (or wife) and children to feel fulfilled because she is mentally and morally superior to women who do value these things.  In truth she is closed minded to a fault.  She is so blinded by her “cause” that she hurts her own argument and renders herself an unreliable source. 

Leave a Reply

