A Traumatic Event That Actually Involved Coffee

College is a time when you learn figure out your future, make lifelong friends that are more like family, and really figure out who you are. Today reaffirmed something I have known about myself since high school.  I am a magnet for awkward situations, most of which are brought about by my klutziness and lack of filter. Today was a klutziness kind of day.

After a long night of studying… or babysitting and watching Brave while playing “Dots” (it is in the app store. Check it out if you want your brain to go numb..but in a good way) I was NOT prepared for an 8 a.m. Not even close. I was especially not in the mood to deal with my sexist-old-bastard of a professor. That part is another rant for another day.

I woke up to the air raid siren that is my alarm, stumbled around in the dark to find a sweatshirt and a pair of jeans, stuffed my laptop in to my backpack, and walked to my class armed with a grande black Verona Dark Roast.  I settled myself into my second row seat off to the left of the windowless 1970’s lecture hall. I pulled that micro desktop that doesn’t even fit a notebook, over my lap and pulled out my computer. (By the way I have a bone to pick with whatever genius decided that crap was a good idea). It is important to know that I have a bad habit of putting my coffee cup on the little ledges net to the mousepad on my MacBook.  As the sexist-old-bastard started lecturing about the same thing that we just read about pretty much word for word, my late night of “Dots” and two day old pizza hit me hard. A wrecking ball of exhaustion fueled by habitual sleep deprivation hit me with a force that my wall of Verona Dark Roast could not withstand. Then I fell asleep for a literal 2 seconds. In that literal 2 seconds my hand brushed my coffee cup, just enough to knock it off it’s precarious perch. That paper cup hit the floor and against all logic sounded like a brick. Verona Dark Roast when EVERYWHERE like a tiny atomic caffeine bomb.

Moral of the story: There isn’t really one. I just wanted to write an overdramatic, caffeine fueled description to make this even seem like a bigger deal than it actually was. However, this does not mean that it was not rather embarrassing.

Side note: Quick thank you to the girl next to me who was very nice about the fact that she got splattered by the slow-mo tsunami emanating from the blast zone.

Leave a Reply

